
Quartermaster General WW2 
Prelude adds a short pre-game 
setting the stage for WW2. Prelude 
has a truncated sequence of play 
designed to create differing opening 
situations from whence regular play 
can begin.

What’s New in 
Second Edition?
This second edition of Prelude 
completes the refresh of the 
original series. This edition adds 
two new cards and includes several 
clarifications to the first edition.

Components
	― Rules
	― 1 Tension track
	― 109 Prelude cards (in 6 decks)

Your Prelude cards are not 
commingled with your country’s 
regular deck.

Use a separate draw deck and 
discard pile for your Prelude cards. 
Most of the Prelude cards will be 
returned to the box before the 
regular game begins.

Using Prelude with the 
Total War Expansion
Prelude is designed to be used with 
either the base game alone or 
together with the Total War 

expansion. If you are not playing 
with the Total War expansion, ignore 
any game text on cards that relate to 
Air Forces, or French and Chinese 
pieces. Game text relating to the 
expansion will be in brackets [ ].

Example: If you’re 
not using the Total 
War expansion, The 
Long March can only 
be used to recruit a 
Soviet Army.

Setup
When using Prelude, follow the 
following procedure:

1.	 Place the tension track beside 
the board with a small counter of 
your choice (we suggest an army 
piece) on the “0” space. 

2.	 Shuffle your regular draw deck, 
and then draw cards as usual 
(10 cards for the base game; 
12 cards when using the Total 
War expansion). Examine these 
cards but do not discard any yet; 
just set them aside for now. Some 
Prelude cards interact with your 
opening hand. In addition, your 
knowledge of your opening hand 
will help you during the Prelude.

3.	 Shuffle your Prelude cards; then 
immediately discard the top 2 
Prelude cards from your Prelude 
draw deck.

4.	 Draw a hand of 2 Prelude cards.
5.	 Play the Prelude (pre-game) as 

described in the next section.
6.	 After the Prelude is concluded, 

any remaining Prelude cards 
in your Prelude Hand, Prelude 
Deck, or Prelude Discard Pile can 
be returned to the game box (to 
make space on the table).
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TENSION 0The Long MarchRecruit a Soviet [or Chinese] Army in China or Szechuan, but the space must be empty.



7.	 Now take your regular hand 
of cards and discard cards as 
normal (3 cards for the base 
game, 5 when using the Total 
War expansion).

8.	 Then begin the regular game on 
Round 1.

Prelude Turns
The Prelude round order proceeds 
like the regular game (Germany, 
United Kingdom, Japan, Soviet 
Union, Italy, and United States), with 
each player finishing a Prelude turn 
before the next starts.

Prelude Turn Sequence 
1.	 Prelude Play Step: Play a 

Prelude card (see below). 
2.	 Prelude Discard Step: Discard 

any remaining (0, 1, or 2) 
Prelude cards in your hand.

3.	 Prelude Draw Step: Draw 2 
Prelude cards. If your Prelude 

draw deck runs out of cards, you 
do not draw more cards during 
the Prelude. If the tension level 
is 10 or more, or all players have 
one or fewer cards in hand, stop 
the Prelude.

Each step is mandatory, if possible.

Prelude Play Step
On your Prelude Play step, you may 
play 1 Prelude card from hand, or 
you may play the top card of your 
Prelude draw deck. Since you can 
look at the top card of your draw 
deck at any time, you’ll know what 
you’re getting.

If you don’t like the top card of your 
Prelude draw deck, you may discard 
it, and examine the new top card of 
your draw deck. You can repeat this 
procedure until you decide to play 
one, run out of Prelude cards, or play 
one from your hand after all.

Ending the Prelude
The Prelude can end in two ways:

When the tension 
level reaches 10 
(“At War!”). 
Every History card 
played, including 
those played on 
the table, adds 
its tension level 
modifier to the 
total tension level. 
Move the counter 
on the tension track 
to record the current 
tension level.

OR

When no player has more than 1 
Prelude card in hand and all of the 
Prelude draw decks are depleted.

P70

TENSION —1Japanese–Soviet Non-aggression PactPlace on the table face-up. Discard and gain +4 Victory Points the � rst time Japan battles your piece if you have not battled a Japanese piece yet this game.
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TENSION —1

Japanese–Soviet 
Non-aggression Pact
Place on the table face-up. Discard and 
gain +4 Victory Points the � rst time Japan 
battles your piece if you have not battled a 
Japanese piece yet this game.

Who Can See What?
The same basic secrecy rules 
that apply to regular cards, apply 
to Prelude cards – your cards in 
hand, discard pile, and face-down 
are secret to you, like other 
cards in Quartermaster General. 
However, there are a few small 
differences: 

	― You may always look at the 
top card of your Prelude 
draw deck.

	― During your Prelude Play 
Step, at any time you may 
discard the top card of your 
Prelude draw deck.

As usual, you cannot share that 
card’s information with your 
teammates.



The Prelude ends immediately after 
the current player’s turn is finished, 
even if it is not the end of a full round. 

There is no need to keep track of 
rounds in the Prelude game. After the 
Prelude ends, the regular game begins 
with Germany on Round 1, as usual.

Prelude Cards
There are two kinds of Prelude 
cards, Armament and History. 
References to Prelude cards will 
always be explicitly stated (i.e. 
“Prelude cards”, “Prelude draw 
deck”, etc.). When the word “cards” 
is alone, it refers to the regular (not 
Prelude) game cards.

Discarding Prelude Cards
Prelude cards are never discarded to 
the regular discard pile, but always 
to the Prelude discard pile. A regular 
game card that refers to discards 
(e.g. Flexible Resources) never 
refers to Prelude discards.

Running Out of Prelude Cards
If a Prelude card requires you to 
discard from your Prelude draw 
deck and you have no more Prelude 
cards, discard from the top of your 
regular draw deck instead.

History Cards
History cards are 
similar to Event 
cards in the regular 
game – to use, just 
follow the game 
text on the card. 
Most History cards 
are immediately 
discarded, but some are placed face-
up on the table and then discarded 
(and some benefit gained) when some 
other game condition is met – a bit 
like a Response card, but not secret.

History cards also have a tension 
level modifier (see Ending the 
Prelude). Some History cards will be 
placed face-up on the table (e.g., 
Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact). When 
discarded, these cards are placed in 
the Prelude discard pile, or back in 
the game box.

Armament Cards
Armament cards 
are played face-
down on the table, 
like Response cards, 
and can be used 
during the regular 
game (after the 
Prelude), like a 
Response card.

However, Armament cards 
differ from Response cards in an 
important way:  
To use an Armament card, you 
must discard 1 regular game 
card from hand – but only when 
the card is used from the table, not 
when played to the table during the 
Prelude.

Note that Armament cards are not 
Response cards – another game 
card that refers to a Response card 
(e.g. Operation Magic) cannot act on 
an Armament card (and of course 
Armament cards are discarded to the 
Prelude discard pile or game box).
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TENSION —1Molotov-Ribbentrop PactPlace on the table face-up. Discard and gain +4 Victory Points the � rst time Germany battles your piece if you have not battled a German piece yet this game.
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United States Army Air Corps
Use at the beginning of your Victory step.  Gain +1 Victory Point [or deploy an Air Force].

No Reactions 
during the Prelude
Cards on the table that react 
to game play, including Status, 
Response, and Armament cards 
on the table cannot be used 
during the Prelude. Bolster cards 
cannot be used either, if using 
Total War.



Designer’s Notes
Writers of history always have a bias, 
whether overt or implied. I wrote this 
Prelude with the specific belief that 
it would have been in the Allies favor 
had they intervened earlier. Hence, it 
is usually – but not always – beneficial 
for the Allies to conclude the Prelude 
sooner; all things being equal, the Allies 
should try to add tension and the Axis 
remove it. But it is rarely the case that 
all things will be equal, and thus I can’t 
offer a hard and fast rule of thumb.

Be careful of the hidden cost of 
Armament cards. You’ll have to discard 
when you want to use it, and that 
discard may seem a lot easier when 
not looking at the cards in hand at the 
time!

Adding both Total War and Prelude 
to the base game will set you up for a 
wild ride as so many more unexpected 
combinations appear, and you may 
find the games diverge further 
from history. Of course, this is to be 
expected, as Prelude alters the game’s 
trajectory at launch.

Finally, you might consider a practice 
round of just the Prelude before playing 
the entire game. Because Prelude 
can change the game’s trajectory so 
substantially, it’s important all of 
the players fully understand the new 
mechanics.

Prelude Card 
Breakdown by Country
Country History Armament
Germany 8 12
Japan 9 9
Italy 9 7
United Kingdom 10 11
Soviet Union 9 8
United States 10 7
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