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NOTES ON THE SECOND EDITION
The reference to the “Ents of Fangorn” Event cards should 
be to the “Ents Awake” Event cards.
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COUNTER SUMMARY
The backs of the Elven Rings Counters and the Fellowship 
Progress Counter have been switched in the Counter 
Summary and on page 21 (Elven Ring Counters) and 36 
(Fellowship Progress Counter). The physical counters are 
correct and they are correctly shown.

PAGE 22

PLAYING EVENT CARDS
The reference to the “Knights of Dol Amroth” Event card 
should be to the “Imrahil of Dol Amroth” Event card.

PAGE 38 — CORRECTION IN BOLD

FELLOWSHIP IS REVEALED BY A HUNT FOR 
THE RING
When the Fellowship is revealed, turn the Fellowship 
Progress Counter to its Revealed side, after which the 
Free Peoples player must move the Ring–bearers figure 
(as described in the previous section), except that this 
movement can never end in a region containing a Free 
Peoples Stronghold or City controlled by the Free 
Peoples.

PAGE 41 — CORRECTION IN BOLD

HUNT EFFECTS WHEN DECLARING OR 
REVEALING THE FELLOWSHIP
When the Free Peoples player declares the Fellowship, 
certain abilities and events may force him to draw a Hunt 
Tile. When this happens, ignore any reveal icon on the 
drawn tile if the Fellowship has been declared in a Free 
Peoples Stronghold or City controlled by the Free 
Peoples.

RULEBOOK
CLARIFICATIONS
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SETTLEMENTS
The term “Free Peoples City/Stronghold/Settlement” 
(or “Shadow City/Stronghold/Settlement”) is used, 
on Character and Event cards, to refer to any City/
Stronghold/Settlement originally belonging to the Free 
Peoples (or Shadow) player, regardless of which player 
currently controls it (unless control is explicitly mentioned).  

PAGE 22

DRAWING EVENT CARDS
All draws are completed before a player needs to discard 
Event card from his hand, down to the hand limit of six 
cards (e.g. if the player holds six cards at the beginning of 
the Recover Action Dice and Draw Event Cards phase he 
will draw both cards and then, as he now holds eight cards, 
discard down to six).

PAGE 27

ARMY MOVEMENT
An Army can move several times per turn, as long as it uses 
a different Action die for each movement.

PAGE 29

TIMING OF COMBAT CARDS
If a Combat Card has more than one effect (e.g. 
“Mûmakil”) it has one initiative number for each effect 
with a different timing.
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PAGE 34

ACTIVATING FREE PEOPLES NATIONS
A Companion with the appropriate Nation icon can activate 
that Nation both when he ends his movement in a City or 
Stronghold of that Nation and if he enters play in a City or 
Stronghold of that Nation.

PAGE 39

THE FELLOWSHIP IN SHADOW 
STRONGHOLDS
If the Fellowship’s path is traced through more than one 
Shadow Stronghold (still controlled by the Shadow player) 
when it is revealed one Hunt Tile is drawn for each such 
Stronghold.

EVENT CARD
CLARIFICATIONS

DEAD MEN OF DUNHARROW {NEW 1.2}

Normally, it is not possible to recruit in a Shadow-
controlled region, and to retake control using an Event 
card. This card is an exception, to recreate the events in the 
book (the Shadow army flees from the Dead Men, and then 
men are recruited from the neighboring area). Using this 
card, it is possible to recruit in the target region (Erech, 
Lamedon or Pelargir), even if the region is still controlled 
by the Shadow; then, the recruited Gondor units will take 
control of that region. To clarify, add “taking control if 
necessary” at the end of the card text.

RIDERS OF THÉODEN
The Leader recruited must be a Rohan Leader.

COMBAT CARDS
CLARIFICATIONS

CONFUSION
Hits are scored on any unmodified die results of “1”.

CRUEL AS DEATH
“Subtracting” Nazgûl Leadership is synonymous with 
“forfeiting” Nazgûl Leadership.

HEROIC DEATH
The Leader to be eliminated must be a Free Peoples Leader.

THEY ARE TERRIBLE
“Subtracting” Nazgûl Leadership is synonymous with 
“forfeiting” Nazgûl Leadership.
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CHARACTER CARDS
CLARIFICATIONS

SMÉAGOL
The effect of the draw of a Sméagol tile is applied 
immediately, before the sequence for resolving the Hunt 
begins.

For this reason, the Free Peoples Character Event Card 
“Mithril Coat and Sting” cannot be used to cancel a drawn 
Sméagol tile (e.g. The Free Peoples player cannot use 
“Mithril Coat and Sting” to prevent Sméagol from entering 
the game, or to prevent the Shadow player from using “We 
Won't Go Back,” when a Sméagol tile is drawn).

Q: Can the alternate version of Boromir, Legolas, and 
Gimli separate to different regions, when separating 
using their Guide ability because of the draw of one 
Hunt tile?

A: No. They must separate as a group, if multiple 
Companions separate as an effect of the resolution of 
the same tile.

Q: Can the alternate “Hobbit of the Shire” version of 
Meriadoc/Peregrin re–appear in a besieged Stronghold 
when using their “Art of Disappearing” ability?

A: No. This movement of Meriadoc/Peregrin follows 
the same rules as normal movement of Companions 
outside the Fellowship.

EVENT CARDS
CLARIFICATIONS

Q: How does the Shadow Event Card “We Won’t Go 
Back” interact with the Hunt resolution?

A: If the Shadow player decides to use “We Won’t 
Go Back,” you immediately add two Corruption 
points to the Ring-bearers. This effect can not be 
prevented using cards or abilities which modify the 
Hunt.

Q: How does the Shadow Event Card “We Shall Get 
It” interact with the Hunt resolution?

A: If the Shadow player decides to use “We Shall 
Get It,” another Hunt tile is drawn (as replacement) 
before the Hunt Resolution begins (i.e. any 
Guide abilities, Event Cards in play, or sacrifice of 
Companions to protect the Ring-bearers used by the 
Free Peoples player will be used to affect the new 
Hunt tile).


